Contemporary Arts. Contemporary Arts Artists Articles Resources Directory
Home Sitemap

Hugo Boss Prize

The Hugo Boss Prize is awarded every other year to an artist (or group of artists) working in any medium, anywhere in the world. The prize is administered by the Guggenheim Museum and sponsored by the Hugo Boss clothing company. It carries with it a cash award of US$50,000 and a tetrahedral trophy. Although the prize has only been awarded since 1996, it has quickly become one of the most prestigious in the art world.

A jury of curators, critics and scholars is responsible for the selection of the artists. They nominate six or seven artists for the short list; several months later, they choose the winner of the prize. In 1996 and 1998, the nominated artists exhibited their work at the now-defunct Guggenheim Soho; since 2000, only the winning artist has shown his or her work.

History of the Prize


The first Hugo Boss Prize was awarded to Matthew Barney, an American filmmaker and sculptor. Other nominees were:

* Laurie Anderson (United States)
* Janine Antoni (United States)
* Cai Guo Qiang (China)
* Stan Douglas (Canada)
* Yasumasa Morimura (Japan)


Douglas Gordon, a Scottish video artist, won the second prize. Other nominees were:

* Huang Yong Ping (China)
* William Kentridge (South Africa)
* Lee Bul (South Korea)
* Pipilotti Rist (Switzerland)
* Lorna Simpson (United States)


The third Hugo Boss Prize went to Marjetica Potrč, a Slovenian artist, architect and urban theorist working in sculpture and photography. Thus far she is the only woman to win the prize. Other nominees were:

* Vito Acconci (United States)
* Maurizio Cattelan (Italy)
* Michael Elmgreen and Ingar Dragset (Denmark and Norway)
* Tom Friedman (United States)
* Barry Le Va (United States)
* Tunga (Brazil)


Pierre Huyghe, a French artist who works in multiple media, won the fourth Hugo Boss Prize. Other nominees were:

* Francis Alÿs (Mexico)
* Ólafur Elíasson (Denmark)
* Hachiya Kazuhiko (Japan)
* Koo Jeong-a (South Korea)
* Anri Sala (Albania)


The fifth Hugo Boss Prize was awarded to Rirkrit Tiravanija, a Thai artist born in Buenos Aires who now works in New York, Berlin and Bangkok. Other nominees were:

* Franz Ackermann (Germany)
* Rivane Neuenschwander (Brazil)
* Jeroen de Rijke and Willem de Rooij (The Netherlands)
* Simon Starling (United Kingdom)
* Yang Fudong (China)

© Copyright All rights reserved.
Unauthorized duplication in part or whole strictly prohibited by international copyright law.